Is YAP Becoming Hot Again?

Posted: September 19, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

I know I haven’t been in YAP as often as I was before.

I know that there have been a lot of new Yappers who have become regulars.

And I know that there have been a few old timers who have now slowly but surely starting to go back into the groove of things (or trying to).

But this one YAP Travel Philippines Question took me back to the good old days of YAP.

Here is the Question:

How do you help a Yapper that’s built an unhealthy obsession with you lately?

Now I have invited those involved to use this YAP Forum to talk things over.

And yes, no-holds-barred here and no thumb down, no reporting and no suspensions.

Comments
  1. I honestly don’t think so. The only old ones I see, and very rarely at that, are you, eezy jex, pero, and PC. And Gary who has come back. Aref comes in once in a blue moon. Battgirl was on YAP once about a month or two ago, I think, and quickly got out. I see some new ones who have become regulars : annely, ms understood, delive-rance, GRO, etc.

    In fact, there was a time when I could spend an afternoon on YAP. But now I open the Qs and see generally uninspired ones. I end up answering one or two, and 5 on a good day.

    • yappers says:

      I agree BoyP, in the sense that YAP has not become “hot” again as in something great or something to come back to.

      I have seen the yappers you have mentioned and other oldtimers come and go, the same as you & me.

      And I know how you feel about not seeing any good questions to reply to.

      But anyway, the hot I am referring to here is I see that there might be some people in YAP getting “hot” at each other again, I mean as getting into each others nerves.

  2. Gary says:

    Dear japs, friend:

    I will appreciate it very much if you will cease and desist from usng your blog for sensationalism. In fact, all that happened before should have been deleted and should be a thing of the past because most all those i disagreed with have now become my friends. Your blog should be an arena for peace, not where you have the gory addiction to have yappers with differences escalate them into full blown war of attrition like animals in a cockpit arena, at my expense.
    Pasensya na.

    • yappers says:

      Hello Gary,

      Good to see you here. I beg to differ though when you say that I am using this blog purely for sensationalism. But most times we cannot get away from that, people like intrigue you know, its human nature. Just ask the media people & network implicated in the IIRC report. But that is not my main intention.

      The intent as always was to take the “heat” away from the real YAP site and into an alternate YAP (blog) site where discussions and real Q and As can go on without fear, without reporting, without thumbs down and without suspensions of accounts.

      And in doing that, we make for a better YAP Travel Forum as it was originally intended to be–and not as a forum to expose things that can create unnecessary image problems to “potential” travelers to the Philippines. And again as I will digress, much like what happened in the horrific bumbling of the Manila hostage drama which was broadcasted worldwide and affected tourist arrivals to the country.

      But it is good that you mentioned this.

      For as you know, this new YAP Blog was merely mapped over from the old one at Yahoo 360 just given a fresh coat of paint and a new address.

      But a while back, I have seriously considered taking out some parts of this old YAP Blog specifically relating to things that we would rather forget. But I have yet to find an easy way of doing that. And one day I know that have to do the inevitable and just have to sit down and go through all the posts one-by-one and do just that.

      Thanks for reminding me my old YAP friend.

  3. yappers says:

    Note: I edited the original post above, for I saw a typo and I noticed that I wasn’t clear enough.

Leave a Reply

